Today, on a wonderful sunny Sunday, i find myself in a wonderful situation. You’d consider the situation wonderful if you’re as much of a bookworm as myself.
Today, i find myself tackling not 2, but 4 books at a time. Two are in English, one in French, and one in Arabic.
Being a Lebanese girl, I’ve grown up with these three languages, but sadly neither my Arabic, nor my French are a point of strength in my language.
However, i do not intend on remaining so weak in these languages, for each is beautiful in its own way, and trust me on this one. Arabic can be a very romantic language when it comes to its actual literature. Its not a language anyone should fear because of mainstream media and everything going on in the world. Language is culture, and culture is enriched by its language. Therefore, i hope one day, the Arabic language gains its deserved respect. You need not look further than one of our national icons in music, Fairouz, or even one of our greatest poets which most of you are familiar with, Gibran Khalil Gibran. French, on the other hand, is a language used by many here, and most of the children speak french, therefore, it becomes a vital means of communication.
However, i follow a certain philosophy in life, especially my educational journey. It goes “Reading is key to enriching language and knowledge”. My love for reading has allowed me to move faster than many i know, and it has granted me the luxury of understanding the world in different perspectives.
So now, i retreat to one of the books I’m reading, and by night, i will publish something I’ve been working on since last night.
Enjoy your day everyone.

SoulfulThoughts

